National Seafood Bisque Day

The first time I ever had seafood bisque, I was in Gothenburg, Sweden. My family and I had no idea where to go to eat, and wandered onto some street, into a very empty restaurant. The walls were lined with nautical paraphernalia, and in the center of the restaurant, there was a large “pool” of water, with remote controlled boats inside.

This could have ended either very badly or very wonderfully.

Luckily, it was awesome. Our appetizers were brought to us on the remote controlled boats. How cool? A quick Google search tells me that the restaurant was Restaurang Räkan. It was there that I first tried a seafood bisque. The first time I had lobster, even. I was previously a very devout “No seafood ever!” picky eater. Well guess what? The soup was scrumptious. It was creamy, yet savory, and had great warmth from the cognac. A very good first seafood experience.

Cue many years later, I still love seafood soups, and bisques, and seafood bisques. Here are a few different recipes for seafood based bisques that I think you should try. The weather is getting chillier, which means it’s the perfect opportunity to try a new soup.

A very creamy lobster bisque with cognac

Dairy Free Shrimp Bisque

Corn and Crab Bisque

Of course, we think that everything tastes better inside a puffed pastry, so this recipe is a must:  Lobster Bisque Pot Pie

lango soup

And lastly, this recipe for a Thai inspired shrimp bisque that I made.

Verdict? Try it and you will be pleasantly surprised. Seafood bisques are worth the venture. And there’s booze involved, so there’s that.

Leave a comment