National Brandied Fruit Day

I did not prepare for today in advance, and apparently this is the one day I actually needed to.

I just got home from work and googled “brandied fruit recipes.” I had no idea if there were more steps besides “place fruit in brandy” and “consume.” I was also hoping that I could brandy (is that a verb? it is now) mango or blueberries, since those are the only fruits I have right now.

As it turns out, I need not be concerned about what type of fruit one can brandy. Because apparently in order to properly brandy fruit, you need to let the fruit sit in the brandy for at least 2 weeks.

So basically, the second I didn’t place some fruit in some brandy on October 6th was the second I ruined October 20th.

Here are some recipes for brandied fruit:

My verdict? How the heck am I supposed to know? I’m sitting here eating unbrandied blueberries. Don’t be like me. If you want brandied fruit, make sure you prepare weeks in advance. I don’t even know what I want to eat for dinner tonight, so I don’t know how anyone knows what they want to eat a few weeks from now. But good luck to you, anyway.

Leave a comment