National Sneak Some Zucchini On Your Neighbor’s Porch Day

I find this holiday to be pretty interesting. The idea is that in the height of zucchini season, gardeners who have an abundance of zucchini try to get rid of it by giving it to their neighbors, and sometimes in the sneaky manner of just dropping it on the porch anonymously. Somehow along the line there was an official day created that is dedicated to this fun little activity.

I do not have a garden, and therefore I don’t have a lot of zucchini. But I’m planning one for next summer so this year as an experiment I strategically tried a few vegetable plants to see how it went. My little tomato seedlings got picked by an overzealous child, but my cucumber plants have flourished. And when I say flourished, I mean, have grown like crazy and have been producing more cucumbers than I know what to do with. In the last five days alone, I have picked seven of them and have a dozen that will be ready within the week. I’ve made two batches of pickles, cucumber salads, and just sliced them. And I don’t even like cucumbers that much. Naturally I started to give them away, so I feel like I understand the spirit of trying to get rid of excess vegetables. I know it’s not zucchini but it’s green and a similar shape, so it is probably the closest a member of our blog team will get to really participating in this event. I’ve given several to my parents, one to my sister, and I’m visiting my in-laws this weekend and have packed three. But most importantly, last week I gave one to a neighbor. No, I did not sneak it over and leave it on the porch, because knowing my luck someone would spot me and I’d become that weird neighbor. Hopefully the garden I’m planning for next year yields enough zucchini that I can participate in this holiday for real!

IMG_20150716_181853

Leave a Reply

