National Frozen Custard Day

When I hear “frozen custard,” I can only think of one place: 

Rita’s. 

There is a Rita’s about 5 minutes or less down the road from where I work, and I’m obsessed. I used to have Wednesday’s off from work, so I would go every Tuesday afternoon to celebrate my mid-week weekend with some water ice and custard.

Alas, I no longer have Wednesdays off, so I stopped consuming so much Rita’s (my sleepy body says boo, but my waistline says thank you). 

After some things went down at work (actually not that dramatic but whatever), I decided to treat myself to Rita’s. 

I chose the Horchata water ice and had it topped with a massive load of vanilla custard. Custard is so nice because I feel like the end result is much smoother than ice cream, and certainly never has any “icy” feel to it. 

  
Yum. Yes. That is a massive cup of Rita’s. No shame in this sassy game. 

The flavors at Rita’s pack a punch, but are never too sweet, at least that’s how I feel anyway. Though to be fair, I don’t eat the flavors like cotton candy or Swedish Fish. 

Anyway. 

Good custard. Good water ice. Wonderful treat that makes me happy. Win all around. 

One thought on “National Frozen Custard Day

Leave a Reply

