National Raspberry Cake Day

I’m pretty excited about all of the upcoming raspberry holidays. I’m a fan. For today, I actually kind of cheated a little. I made raspberry bread, not cake. But, to be fair, it’s not like raspberry bread is for sandwiches. It’s more dessert than food anyway.

I followed this recipe. I’d never had raspberry bread before. I didn’t even know it was a thing. But this was an easy enough recipe, and it sounded delicious.

This is how it came out:

IMG_1430Okay, so that doesn’t look all that appetizing, but trust me when I say it tasted better than it looks.

IMG_1431I’m actually not really a big fan of cooked berries. The only fruit I really liked cooked is apples. And I really don’t like cooked blueberries. I don’t think I’d ever had cooked raspberries before, but they weren’t too bad. It was a little bit too tart for me, but that could have just been the specific batch I had. I resolved that issue by topping it with some of my homemade whipped cream that I made in preparation for Raspberries and Cream Day next week. It helped.

IMG_1432My verdict? This was really easy, and surprisingly tasty. Like I said, it’s not technically “cake,” but who cares?

One thought on “National Raspberry Cake Day

Leave a Reply

