National Macaroni Day

Macaroni is pretty special to get it’s own day. I’m pretty sure we haven’t had any other holidays for a particular pasta. I normally think of it only when referring to macaroni and cheese and don’t really have it any other time as it’s not my favorite kind of pasta. I’ve heard people refer to pasta as “macaroni” but to me, when you’re talking about macaroni, I always think of what I called “elbows” growing up. Let’s not call all pasta macaroni, people, it’s just not right.

I had every intention of making macaroni and cheese today, until my schedule caught up with me. My homemade macaroni and cheese is one of my top 5 favorite things to eat. Instead, we’ll have to honor the day with some of the slightly less delicious but still satisfactory boxed stuff. Annie’s has recently become my brand of choice over Kraft, because, you know, it’s “healthier” and all. But give me my oozy, cheesy, gooey, browned homemade stuff from scratch any day because that is the best thing there is.

IMG_5473IMG_5474

Leave a Reply

