National Strawberry Sundae Day

So since I’ve been slacking so much recently, I decided I wanted to give this holiday my all. I also noticed that there are a lot of ice cream holidays coming up this month. And, guess what? I have an ice cream maker that I’ve never used! So…I made a vanilla ice cream base and made three different kinds of ice cream out of it (stay tuned for the other flavors later this month).

Ingredients
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • ¾ cup milk
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • ⅛ teaspoon salt
  • fruit of your choice!
Instructions
  1. Add all the ingredients except the fruit to a shallow pan and heat until it starts to slightly bubble.
  2. Turn off the heat and mix until the sugar is dissolved.
  3. Allow to cool to room temperature.
  4. Add the fruit.
  5. Pour into an ice cream maker and churn according to the manufacturer’s directions. Freeze for 3 hours before serving.

My strawberry mixture:

IMG_1284Making ice cream:

And, since today is not just Strawberry Ice Cream Day, but Strawberry Sundae Day, I ate mine topped with chocolate syrup and sprinkles.

IMG_1292My verdict? I’m actually not a big strawberry ice cream eater, but this was really good. It was more like vanilla ice cream with strawberries in it, I guess. But that still counts.

2 thoughts on “National Strawberry Sundae Day

Leave a Reply

