National Anisette Day

I left this day open on our calendar for as long as humanly possible, hoping and praying that someone else would pick it up. But no one did, and that means I have to step up and deal with it. Except that I didn’t. Because I hate the flavor of anise (heh). That black licorice flavor? No, thank you. I don’t want it in my candy, and I certainly don’t want it in my liquor.

Remember that time I bought all those spices for National Hot Mulled Cider Day and I made that horrified face when smelling the star anise? That’s how I feel about anisette. I could have made something out of the star anise I already have, but I knew I wouldn’t like the way it tasted.

photo-1-32

I wasn’t going to buy anisette for today because I didn’t know what to do with it. So, once again, I didn’t celebrate today properly. Honestly, I’m not really mad about it.

Leave a Reply

