National Applesauce Cake Day

I thought that this one was over before it even started. 

Why did I attempt to make a mug cake again? 

I should have tossed this in the trash before putting it in the microwave. 

Guys. What did I do? I didn’t even use cake mix. I used some leftover box chocolate chip cookie mix. 

What’s wrong with me? I mixed 1/2 cup of chocolate chip cookie mix with about 3/4 of one of those little applesauce cups. 

It looked like applesauce pudding. Yikes. And I didn’t even add any eggs.

Still, I put the bowl in the microwave for a minute. You know what happened? 

  
A cake came out. I kid you not. The thing rose and everything. It was moist. It tasted like cake, not cookies, and it was light and fluffy. 

  
How did this happen? I made a mug cake with no recipe, I ignored all baking logic, and made the best mug cake I ever ate. 

Finally, score 1 for the mug cakes. It can be done. 

Leave a Reply

