National Escargot Day

I’ve always been a firm believer that you should try any food once before you form an opinion. I know that I haven’t always followed my own rule on here before, but that’s because I’m too lazy to make the food myself. If someone else made scrapple and put it in front of me, I’d at least try it.

This belief has lead me to eat many, many weird things in my life. Including escargot. I ate it once on a cruise ship when I was 12 years old. I just remember it mostly tasting like chewy garlic and butter.

But because of the fact that I have eaten escargot before, according to my own beliefs, I don’t ever have to eat it again.

Seriously, though: where does one even find escargot? Probably in a fancy French restaurant, I’d imagine. Okay, so next question: where does one even find a fancy French restaurant? Probably not anywhere near where I live, I’d imagine.

So, if you have any great desire to eat snails that have been “purged, killed, removed from their shells, and cooked,” then go for it. And tell me about it in the comments.

I, for one, have tried it once, and that’s enough. So…no snails for me.

Leave a Reply

