National Fruit Cocktail Day

In researching fruit cocktail for today’s blog post, the most interesting thing I learned is that there is actually USDA ratio of fruit that must be upheld in order to use the label “fruit cocktail”. Fruit cocktail must contain certain percentages of pears, grapes, cherries, peaches, and pineapples. Unfortunately, despite the name cocktail, that ratio includes no alcohol.
DSC03460
I purchased a can of fruit cocktail, opened it and dumped it in a bowl. It doesn’t get much easier. But me being me, I had to mess with it.  I had some leftover maraschino cherries from my pineapple upside down cake, so I hesitantly threw those in there too. Using my new knowledge of fruit cocktail requirements, I’m pretty sure that makes this ineligible for consideration as fruit cocktail. Either way, I enjoyed this simple snack. It’s so easy that I think you should go out and enjoy some too!
DSC03463
Leave a Reply

