National Lima Bean Respect Day

Dear Lima Bean,

Spring finally seems to be here to stay in the northeast. After being cooped up all winter, the flowers are blooming, the sun is shining, baseball is being played. Today, we fired up the grill and had hamburgers for the first time in months. Did I choose glamorous asparagus or showy broccoli as a side? No. I chose you, humble frozen lima bean. Even though we are thinking about all the fresh produce that will be popping up, I wanted to give respect to the one who (along with your frozen vegetable and legume brethren) got us through this cold winter in your reliable, simple and unassumingly nutritious way. Respect is earned, and you have certainly earned my respect for always being available for me in the frozen food section of my grocery store when I need you. Yes, I could go out and buy or plant fresh lima beans, but because I respect you I will be honest and let you know that it is unlikely I will do that.

I did no elaborate preparations. I took my lima beans out of the freezer and warmed them on the stove. Because lima beans need no adornment and are best served in the most natural state. Plain.

Lima Bean, thank you for being a legume that is a good source of dietary fiber, helping to both regulate my blood sugar and lower my cholesterol. Thank you for preventing constipation and irritable bowel syndrome.

Lima beans, you are clearly underrated. Many a child has grown up hearing, “finish your lima beans or you will get no dessert.” But today, we should be saying, finish your dessert or you will get no LIMA BEANS.

Most of all, thank you for being you. Today we salute and respect you, the one and only lima bean.

Sincerely,
Keri
DSC03268
Leave a Reply

