National Day of the Mushroom

Today is the Day of the Mushroom, which is my favorite edible fungus. Are there other edible fungi? I actually have no idea, but I do enjoy mushrooms. I bought a package of ordinary white button mushrooms and planned to use them for two dinners, a stir fry tonight and kebobs this weekend. I would also recommend mushrooms in salads, omelettes, sauteed on top of burgers, and chicken marsala.DSC03279

Stir fry is not a favorite meal among my family members  but I still make it somewhat regularly because it makes me feel virtuous and makes up for the times I feed them cookie pasta. It’s also a good way to use up the random vegetables in my refrigerator. But most importantly, it justifies why I have a wok taking up room in my kitchen.

I don’t have a real recipe for you but my intentions were to make a stir fry with chicken, mushrooms, broccoli, carrots, and kale. Then I realized I had half a green pepper and half an onion in the fridge, so I threw those in there too. Today I also planned ahead and marinated the chicken and chopped up all the vegetables earlier in the day. I have no idea if this impacted the flavor but it allowed me to enjoy playing in the park with my kids until 5pm, knowing dinner would come together quickly.

My sauce was soy sauce, corn starch, water, ground ginger, black pepper, and rice wine vinegar. I cooked the chicken first and then removed it from the pan. Then I cooked the vegetables, adding them to the pan in the order of how long it would take to get to the desired tenderness (carrots first), and then added back the chicken at the end. Mushrooms are one of the last things I put in there because I don’t like when they get too mushy.

DSC03284

Right after adding the mushrooms

Overall this was a decent dinner and not a bad way to enjoy some mushrooms. The only problem is that now I’m hungry again. Ice cream, anyone?

DSC03293

My plate

Leave a Reply

