Baked Ham with Pineapple Day

In the words of my boyfriend “Ham is good. I like it. It comes from pigs. Pigs are fat and they are dirty, but ham is good.” Well, I could not agree more.

As stated in the previous post, I really do love ham. The ham is always prepared relatively the same way. It is scored, and then cloves are stuck into the ham in various spots. After the ham looks nice and decorated with the cloves, a can of sliced pineapples are opened and placed on the ham as well with toothpicks. Finally, the pineapple juice from the can is poured all over the top, as is just a sprinkle of brown sugar and then put in the oven at 350 for around 2 hours. (It depends on the size of the ham…we use a meat thermometer to tell)

Baked ham is a long-standing tradition in my family. It is a staple for almost every holiday and a treat whenever my mom surprises my brother and I with it for dinner. We have baked ham on Easter, after homemade manicotti, on Christmas day, after homemade lasagna, and more recently it is taking over as my birthday dinner. When some of the fellow Food365 contributors come over to celebrate my birthday, they know that ham is on the dinner menu. Basically if you don’t like ham, you can’t sit with us.

Sorry guys! I took the pineapples off and started eating them before I realized I didn't take the picture yet :(

Sorry guys! I took the pineapples off and started eating them before I realized I didn’t take the picture yet 😦

Verdict: Ham is so delicious. To me, it resembles a bacon-like flavor, but a bit saltier. It is such a treat when I get to eat it. I actually have had ham twice this week, because why not? Give me all the ham…I will graciously accept it.

One thought on “Baked Ham with Pineapple Day

Leave a Reply

