National Cheese Fondue Day

Give me a day dedicated to celebrating cheese, and you make me a happy lady.

Give me a day dedicated to melted cheese, and my happiness is indescribable.

I really like cheese, ok? This is a no judgement zone.

For National Cheese Fondue Day, I decided to share my pot of melty cheese with some friends. I totes could have eaten that entire pot by myself, but I decided to exercise a little self control. Sharing is caring, right?

The fondue recipe I used was from this website. I didn’t feel like using wine, so I searched for a broth based recipe instead and found the recipe. I used turkey broth because we had no chicken broth in the house. I don’t think it makes a difference.

I also used rice flour instead of cornstarch, because one of my guests is allergic to corn. I think that made a difference. My fondue kind of turned more into a cheese spread than a liquid pot of stringy cheese. Also I don’t have a real fondue pot so much as I have a little tea light candle pot, so I’m not sure it was being kept warm enough to remain a thinner cheese river, but I didn’t care. It was still melted cheese.

IMG_3643

My cheese combo was smoked gruyere and Kerrygold Swiss. It was amazing.

My dippables included a veggie platter, ruffled potato chips, cheddar potato chips, Popcorners, fresh bakery bread, and chicken garlic sausage.

Smoked cheese fondue

Verdict? I served my friends melted cheese with all the best dippers. Obviously it’s the best day ever. Smoked cheese, for the win!

Leave a Reply

