National Caramel Popcorn Day

Funny how this day follows National Caramel Day. Someone did some planning, eh?

Not me, though.

I realize now that the smart thing to do would have been to make caramel for yesterday, and then pour it on some popcorn for today.

It’s too late for that now.

Maybe next year.

I intended on eating caramel popcorn from one of those big Christmas tins that has butter, cheddar, and caramel popcorn.

popcorn tin

Image from popcornhaven.com

Real talk: We all know that the neon orange cheddar flavor is the best and the caramel popcorn is actually the worst. So why is the cheddar column so small, and the caramel popcorn column so big?

Mysteries!

Then I realized that we got rid of our popcorn tins. Which is fair, since it’s April. I guess.

And yeah, I said it. I don’t like the caramel popcorn flavor. It’s always too sweet and the caramel is too hard and get’s stuck in my teeth. It’s too sugary. It doesn’t have a creamy, buttery caramel taste. Why did I pick this holiday? I just don’t know.

The only caramel popcorn that I like is from Harry & David. Moose Munch is where it’s at.

I don’t have any Moose Munch though, so I went to my favorite snack, which is kind of close to caramel popcorn.

popcorners caramel

These Popcorners are just a teeny bit salty, very full of a classic caramelized sugar taste, and are made from “popped corn” so they count for today. Bonus: No kernels caught in my teeth. This is a win.

One thought on “National Caramel Popcorn Day

Leave a Reply

