National Peanut Butter and Jelly Day

Today is Peanut Butter and Jelly Day. Not to be confused with PB&J Day.

Even though I don’t eat peanut butter and jelly sandwiches very often, I make several a week. When I eat them I prefer creamy peanut butter and a berry flavored jelly. Most types of bread are acceptable; from wheat to potato, even rye bread. I love it open faced on toasted English muffins too.

When I was a kid, my mom would pack lunches the night before. She taught me that if you put a thin layer of peanut butter on both sides of the bread, it keeps the jelly from making the bread soggy before lunch. I didn’t realize until much later that this is an unusual (and maybe controversial) method. But I still like making my sandwiches that way, even when eating immediately.

In honor of this day, I decided to give you a photo montage of all of the peanut butter and jelly sandwiches I have made in the last few weeks. During this time we finished a jar of strawberry jelly, worked on an already opened raspberry, and discovered a new cherry; also ate through loaves of potato and wheat bread. I also accidentally purchased a jar of crunchy peanut butter, which caused some unhappiness but did provide some variety. The last picture is the one I ate today. I hope one of these inspires you to make yourself a peanut butter and jelly sandwich today!
DSC02668

Creamy, strawberry, potato bread

DSC02707

Creamy, raspberry, potato bread

DSC02780

Creamy, cherry, potato bread

DSC02823

Creamy, strawberry, whole wheat tortilla

DSC02892

Crunchy, raspberry, potato bread

DSC02783

Creamy, cherry, whole wheat (MINE)

One thought on “National Peanut Butter and Jelly Day

Leave a Reply

