National Ravioli Day

Sometimes you just don’t feel like cooking. When I was younger, this didn’t matter. But these days, there are people who rely on me to feed them. This might be obvious, but in case you didn’t know, children need to eat and their parents are the ones who are expected to feed them. If I don’t keep up I’ll probably get into some type of legal trouble. So for those days when I’m not really feeling it, I try to keep some convenience items available and one of those is frozen ravioli. It cooks quickly and everyone is happy. I usually buy the standard cheese ravioli, but I had butternut squash ravioli in my freezer so that’s what I went for today. I guess technically these were called “triangoli” but I think we can all agree to let this technicality slide.

I didn’t know what type of sauce to use because tomato sauce just didn’t seem right. So I quickly consulted my friend Google and determined that browned butter sauce is commonly used with butternut squash ravioli. I had a stick of butter in the fridge so we were in business. It was very easy to make. Basically you melt the butter and then continue cooking it, while stirring, until it becomes brown. Then you add heavy cream (I didn’t have any but used some half and half) and some herbs and are done. Most recipes called for sage, but I didn’t have that either, so just added a little salt and pepper. Once the ravioli finished cooking, I put them in the sauce. Start to finish this meal was done in 15 minutes.
DSC02622DSC02625DSC02627DSC02635
The verdict? The sauce was good but I was surprised at how sweet the ravioli was. I went back and read the ingredients label more carefully and realized there were amaretti biscuits in the filling. Having cookies in the filling seemed unnecessary to me since butternut squash is sweet enough to start with. But it did give me the chance to tell my family that they were having cookies for dinner and to say the words “finish your cookie pasta.” So in addition to clean plates and no leftovers (baby ate 5, so please tell me how I’m going to afford the high school years), I earned points for serving my family cookies for dinner. However I might skip this particular brand/variety and try something that does not include cookies in the filling next time.
DSC02637
One thought on “National Ravioli Day

Leave a Reply

