National Strawberry Day

We’re at about the halfway mark of this year of celebrating food holidays, and one thing I’ve noticed is that the organization of these holidays doesn’t make much sense. Strawberry day in February? Deviled egg day in November? And what about all these duplicates? I already did the second Biscuits and Gravy Day and I know we’ve had a few taco days (and my calendar tells me there’s more to come!), pumpkin pie days, donut days, and a few more I’m sure I missed. This really just messes with my sense of order (or maybe that’s my CPA showing).

Back to the topic.

Have you ever gone strawberry picking? I went for the first time only a few years ago, and besides one minor strawberry juice face meltdown, it was a really fun experience. The difference between locally purchased in-season strawberries, whether you pick them yourself or not, and those watery giant red blobs you get in the grocery store in the off-season is enormous.

I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s not usually worth it to buy strawberries from anywhere except directly from a farm when they are in season. Strawberry season is fleeting and is very sensitive to weather conditions, so it’s not uncommon for me to stop at the farm I pass on my way home mulitple times in one week. I know that once strawberry season is over, it will be goodbye until next year.

BUT. Yet again, my principles are broken by my children who are berry fiends and do not care yet about eating seasonally. So when my grocery store has them on sale for $1.99, I buy them even if it is February. This allows me to celebrate the mediocre watery strawberry blobs shipped in from California in the middle of winter. But seeing the strawberry covered smiles on my kids’ faces was enough to declare this day a massive success!

DSC01400

3 thoughts on “National Strawberry Day

Leave a Reply

