National Muffin Day

Happy National Muffin Day, or as it will hence forth be known in my kitchen, Muffin Massacre Day.

Ever since I was a little kid, my mom and grandmother used to tell me, “Baking is a science, cooking is an art.”  Today I finally understand this.  I thought that I would make you all some muffins today rather than just buy one and eat it like I usually do.  That plan was foiled when I forgot my wallet this morning as I was walking past my favorite deli/grocery/bakery up by school.  So plan B.  I don’t do a lot of baking here because I have no mixing bowl or measuring cups/spoons.  I do know that I have the ingredients for a simple banana muffin, the rest I’ll just improvise.  Scientists do that all the time, right?

Nope, they don’t.  And for good reason.  A pot and fork is not a substitute for a mixing bowl, a teaspoon is not actually a “teaspoon”, and a teacup is certainly NOT an accurate “cup” measurement.  Oh and when they say, spray with non stick cooking spray, that’s not just a suggestion.

Needless to say, I will not be sharing any photos of this disaster or my smoke filled apartment.  Below is the recipe that I was using if anyone wants to give it another shot and show me up.

http://www.food.com/recipe/easy-banana-muffins-8603

The photo above from vingatgenovelty is what the muffins were supposed to look like, not what they actually did look like.  Needless to say, I will be taking all motherly and grandmotherly advice much more seriously from now on.

Leave a Reply

