National “Drink Wine” Day

As a girl in her mid-20s, I find today to be an absolutely excellent food holiday. It’s Drink Wine Day!

I don’t actually know anything about wine. I just know that I like to drink it. I know that prefer something a little sweeter or fruitier. I don’t know a merlot from a cabernet or any of that.

So this is not a very informed post. Just a delicious one.

We actually went really big with the wine in my family for this food day. Not only did we drink our wine, but we cooked with it too. We made beef burgers that were cooked in a frying pan with a little red wine, then added with aged cheddar and white onions that were cooked in red wine.

Red Wine and Cheddar burger with red wine onions

Red Wine and Cheddar burger with red wine onions

The red wine we cooked with and drank was a Simone Merlot from 2008. I have no idea what that means.

IMG_2873

 

Verdict? It was yummy. Very smooth. Is wine smooth? I know it’s yummy, but I don’t know if people describe wine as smooth. Whatever. I drank it.

Leave a Reply

