National Cream Filled Chocolate Day!

Being a teacher, I get a LOT of candy  for the holidays. I ate my way through the good stuff (the Godiva truffles, the Lindt reindeer, etc. ) ages ago, and I’ve had this  box of Whitman’s chocolates lurking  in the back of the pantry since Christmas.

20150214_200941

Since today is National Cream Filled Chocolates Day, I decided to give them a shot.

It turns out that this box is not a Whitman’s Sampler. They’re actually Belgian truffles from a company called Gudrun, which I’ve never heard of before. They’re gorgeous, so I hope they taste as good as they look!

20150214_205956  20150214_201058Even though I wanted to eat the entire box, I resisted and picked four.

20150214_204510

I tasted two milk chocolates. The first one was filled with milk chocolate hazelnut ganache and white chocolate raspberry creme, and the second was filled with coconut cream. I also had two of the dark chocolates – one with a dark chocolate ganache and crunchy cocoa nibs inside, and one filled with caramel and sea salt. All of them were really good, but the standout was the caramel chocolate. It was really, really delicious – just enough salt to make the milky caramel pop. In hindsight, I wish I hadn’t shared it with my husband!

If you have the chance to try Gudrun chocolates, grab them! They’re well worth it … and I ‘m sad I waited so long to taste them. These are way  better than your average’s Valentine’s Day chocolate!

Leave a Reply

