National Cream Cheese Brownie Day

It is National Cream Cheese Brownie Day, which is cleverly ALSO National “Have a Brownie” Day.

So I did just that. I made A, that is singular, brownie.

I know what you’re all thinking.

“Oh boy. Allyssa made another gross mug cake.”

WRONG. I actually found a recipe for one, singular, bake in the oven brownie, gluten free of course.

Recipe for A brownie.

Remember, though, it’s cream cheese brownie day. So I made up some BS cream cheese/cheesecake type topping recipe to bake on top of my brownie.

I followed the brownie recipe exactly, so that turned out just fine, albeit a bit too almond butter-y. I added a tablespoon of coconut milk, and I really should add more next time, if I want it to be a little less almondy.

The cream cheese part was where it went to hell. I did some cream cheese, an egg yolk, some vanilla, and white sugar. I didn’t even measure.

Why do I do this to myself?

When it was baking, I panicked because it looked like this:

IMG_2845

 

I though, oh god, I just essentially made sweet scrambled eggs on top of a brownie. What is wrong with me?

Have faith.

IMG_2846

 

It turned out great. I just needed to wait a few minutes longer than I thought. Tada, a 10 minute, singular brownie.

IMG_2848-0

 

Verdict? I love cheesecake and I love brownies. This was a particularly rich brownie, so the cream cheese topping was the essential tang needed to lighten up the dish. Also, I had this before dinner. Appetite definitely well spoiled. Yum.

Leave a Reply

