National Homemade Soup Day

With all of the snow on the ground, and the fierce chill in the air, today seems like a perfect day for soup.

Even better than getting soup from a can is homemade soup.

Homemade soup doesn’t have to take all day or spend hours on the stove. My favorite homemade soups involve items already in the pantry, with already made stocks.

I made soup for myself in about 5 minutes. My favorite stock to use is the low sodium vegetable stock from Trader Joe’s. It’s very flavorful and actually quite hearty.

To this particular soup, I added about 1/2 a cup of canned, mashed sweet potato, a little salt and pepper, chopped chicken and feta sausage, and a lot of parsley. Then I nuked it.

Once it was hot, I added a dollop of sour cream, which brightened up the flavor and was the perfect accent to the warm soup.

So there you go. Homemade soup in about 5 minutes.

IMG_2823

Leave a Reply

