National Tempura Day

I didn’t know that I liked sushi until I was 21 years old. Now, approximately four years later, I have learned that I quite enjoy it. My rule for every time I go out for sushi is to get one roll I know I like and one I’ve never had before. That way I can try something new but still have something to enjoy if I don’t like the new thing. So far, so good. Until today.

This time I only bought one roll because I wasn’t really hungry. This is what I get for breaking the rules.

I went grocery shopping after work yesterday and I decided to buy sushi there for today. This is one time when being lazy didn’t pay off. I should have just gone to a Japanese restaurant instead of A&P.

Look at this label. What does this label say? Do you see “sweet potato tempura?” Good. Me too.

IMG_0080

Now, maybe you are more observant than me and see where I’m going with this. Because now I’m going to ask you to look closely at the sushi.

IMG_0081

There ain’t no sweet potato in there.

It’s a California roll. Which is fine, but not even close to my favorite. Good thing I’m not a vegetarian or I’d be pissed. Instead, I just ate it and wrote this.

My verdict? Not bad, for super market sushi. Not tempura either. I like tempura because, well…fried.

Leave a Reply

