National Bicarbonate of Soda Day

G’day loyal readers, it has been a while since my last post but I’m thrilled to be back for today’s exciting holiday, celebrating none other than Bicarbonate of Soda.

It sounds so scientific. What is it exactly?

Luckily for you mates, I know the answer to that question, thanks to a semester abroad in Australia.

The answer is….it’s the same bloody thing as baking soda! In Australia it is called bicarbonate of soda and here in the States it is called baking soda.

I lived in a small dorm with a dining hall in the middle of Melbourne and therefore did no cooking, cleaning, or even have a refrigerator. But living among my Aussie mates I did pick up an awful lot of the local vernacular. Almost 15 (!) years later, I can’t remember where I left my glasses, yet I remember what bicarbonate of soda is.
 uses-for-backing-soda
So there you have it. Bicarbonate of Soda: Use it in baking, cleaning, to brush your teeth, or (my personal favorite) to make your science fair volcano erupt. The possibilities are endless no matter where you live!
Leave a Reply

