National Pepper Pot Day

I have never in my life heard of a pepper pot until today. And I’m extremely disturbed to say that, when looking this up, I accidentally clicked on “pepper potting” on Urban Dictionary. I’m not linking to that. If you look it up, it’s your own fault. Instead, look at these alpacas from Pepper Pot Farms.

Anyway, pepper pot actually looks pretty good. According to all-knowing Wikipedia, “Pepperpot is an Amerindian-derived dish popular in Guyana. It is traditionally served at Christmas and other special events…Pepperpot is a stewed meat dish, strongly flavoured with cinnamon, cassareep (a special sauce made from the cassava root) and other basic ingredients, including Caribbean hot peppers. Beef, pork, and mutton are the most popular meats used, though some have been known to use chicken.”

I don’t think I’ve ever eaten Guyanese food before. I’m a big fan of trying foods from other cultures, and this is basically just stew. I enjoy stew.

Here’s the thing. I don’t know where to find these ingredients. Where does one get “cassareep” or Caribbean hot peppers? Also, a lot of the recipes I found are for way more people than I am. I am one person. I can’t eat an entire pork shoulder AND an entire beef shoulder.

Also, some of the recipes include tripe. No. No, no, no. Sorry. But no.

To be fair, I didn’t actually look for this stuff. I don’t really have the time to make a whole stew. Anyone else who wants to make this, here’s some recipes:

Make it and then invite me over. Unless you make the one with tripe.

Let’s just call this post an educational one.

Leave a Reply

