National Fritters Day

I was not looking forward to today. Not because I don’t like fritters. Quite the opposite, actually. I’m a big fan. No, I was not looking forward to today because I have a mild fear of hot oil.

I’m pretty proud of myself for conquering this fear. I’m also pretty proud of myself because I kind of made up this recipe. I’m even going to tell you the measurements of the ingredients that I used. Almost like a real food blog (with some extra Food365-like steps thrown in, for funsies).

But just remember. This is me. I don’t like to follow rules when I cook (even my own). And also, I’m bad at numbers. So if you choose to make this yourself, proceed with caution.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of flour
  • 3 tablespoons of sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of cinnamon
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 cup of milk
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil

Directions

1. Mix flour, sugar, cinnamon.

For some reason I took a picture before I put in the cinnamon.

For some reason I took a picture before I put in the cinnamon.

2. Spill flour on keyboard (optional)

3. Mix in milk and eggs. Don’t be alarmed by the gross consistency.

 

4.Β Play some sweet tunes.

5. Heat up oil in skillet. Throw some globs of dough in. Try not to freak out. Fry on each side for approximately 20 seconds.

6. Don’t be alarmed by how unappealing your fritters look…especially the ones you will inevitably, albeit accidentally, burn.

6. Realize that your fritters are kind of bland and drench them in chocolate syrup.

My verdict?Β I’m pretty sure that creating this recipe makes me an actual pastry chef now. It’s also surprisingly good. Not particularly pretty, but tasty nonetheless. If I ever made this again, I would probably add more cinnamon and sugar. And apples. Definitely apples. But I’m pretty satisfied by my concoction. It went much better than that time I tried to make doughnuts (although they look surprisingly similar, these taste entirely different).

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

