National Mousse Day

I’ve never made mousse before, but it’s surprisingly easy. I already had all the ingredients, and you know how I love it when that happens.

Basically, you just need chocolate and an egg. I used white chocolate since I still had some leftover from National White Chocolate Day, and I didn’t know what else to do with it. I melted the chocolate and separated the egg. It’s been so long since I’ve gotten to use my beloved Bobby Flay ramekins. And this time I got to use three of them!

yolks, whites, chocolate

yolks, whites, chocolate

I whipped the whites until they got all fluffy.

Then I mixed the yolks with the chocolate and it turned a funny yellow color. Then I folded in the fluffy whites.

And, finally, I let it refrigerate for three hours. When it came out, it was the right consistency and it wasn’t quite as grossly yellow. I topped it with some frozen blueberries and raspberries cause I’m fancy.

My verdict? Are you proud of me for doing something right? I am, too. This was super easy and really delicious. I recommend trying it. I will definitely do it again, probably with milk or semi-sweet chocolate, though.

 

One thought on “National Mousse Day

Leave a Reply

