National Cake Day

Well, hello foodiverse. It’s been a while since I’ve posted, but I will happily make my comeback by celebrating National Cake Day.

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving, aka my favorite holiday. So I decided to make a cake today that my family could eat tomorrow. My mom found a recipe for apple cake that she suggested I try, so I went for it.

I lined up (most of) my ingredients, and I peeled and cut up some apples.

applecake

Then I sprinkled the cake mix, sugar, cinnamon, and butter on top of the apples.

This was about the point that I realized that this is not actually cake. This is an apple crumble made with cake mix. But I’d gone this far, soooo…I baked it.

This took for-ev-er to cook. Waaaaay longer than the requested 30 minutes. The topping was not browning and the apples were still hard. But eventually it got to where I wanted it. I only tried a little tiny piece of this because, like I said, I’m serving it tomorrow. But, seriously, how bad could this be? It’s an apple crumble. Serve it hot with some vanilla ice cream. Voila. Delicious. Maybe not a cake, but I’m not complaining. It was made with cake mix, so it still counts.

Happy Thanksgiving Eve, kids. Be safe.

One thought on “National Cake Day

Leave a Reply

