Stuffing Day

What could possibly be better than bread?  If you said panfried bread you answered correctly.  I don’t know about you readers, but I look forward to Thanksgiving for the stuffing…and the candied yams.  When my grandma was alive, I remember her making the stuffing year after year and loving it, even as a little kid.  I know some people put the stuffing inside the turkey, some toast the bread, hey some people even add apples.  However, my grandma stuck to the “keep it simple” philosophy.

Photo Nov 21, 6 14 25 PM

Her stuffing, which we still make to this day, consists of slightly stale white bread, eggs, parmesan cheese, salt, pepper, onion, garlic powder, and of course you have to add some gravy! So simple and so incredibly delicious.

Photo Nov 21, 6 21 21 PM

 

Verdict: I really love this stuffing.  I don’t know if it is because I grew up with it or because it reminds me of my grandma and her cooking.  Maybe it is both.  Whatever the reason, I love it and consider it a little treat since I don’t get to eat it too often.  So, whether you are a stuffing in the turkey person, a toasty bread stuffing person, or a sausage and apple kind of stuffing person, tis the season to eat your favorite kind.  Just remember to loosen your belt a bit before you eat it all, I know I did.

2 thoughts on “Stuffing Day

Leave a Reply

