National Fast Food Day

As I mentioned on National Greasy Food Day, I don’t really eat fast food. Not the McDonalds/Burger King/Taco Bell kind, anyway. I eat pizza and Chinese food, if those count.

The last time I remember being in a Burger King was when I was studying abroad in London and my friends and I spent a few days in Dublin. We went on a pub crawl, then went to a Burger King and convinced the kid working at the counter to give us crowns. I’m not even sure if I ate anything. I just remembering the crowns. That was five years ago. As far as I can remember, I haven’t stepped foot in a place like that since then.

Rocking our BK crowns in Dublin, Ireland.

Rocking our BK crowns in Dublin, Ireland.

It’s not that I’m a particularly healthy eater or a food snob or anything. It’s more that my parents never let us eat that stuff when we were kids, and I never got a taste for it. I think it’s gross. I also read Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser and the thought of putting that garbage inside my body makes me very unhappy.

So. Having said all that, I was trying to figure out how to celebrate today while also avoiding eating at a traditional fast food restaurant. At first I figured I’d go to Smashburger or Five Guys, because they actually serve edible food. But then I had a brilliant idea. I’m from a part of New Jersey that has WaWa (there are four of them within 10 minutes from my house). I asked my dad if he thought that counted as fast food, and he said absolutely. Father knows best.

If you are one of the many unfortunate people in the world who live in a place that doesn’t have WaWa, I weep for you. It’s basically Quick Chek. If you live in a place that doesn’t have Quick Chek…well, then you should probably move. Your home is terrible.

JK. But, really.

Every time I go to WaWa, I like to play around with what I get on my sandwiches. This time, I got a 6 inch sandwich with turkey, lettuce, tomato, roasted red peppers, provolone, and honey mustard. It was messy. And delicious.

wawa

My verdict? Okay, so, I can see how that sandwich might not actually look all that appealing to you, visually. I never said WaWa was pretty. But they do know how to make a sandwich. And I’d choose a WaWa sandwich over more “traditional” fast food any day of the week.

 

Leave a Reply

