National Harvey Wallbanger Day

Before having kids my husband and I had a semi-regular tradition we called “Martini Fridays.” Mostly these were either gin (for him) or vodka (for me) dirty martinis. Occasionally we will still resurrect this tradition, although in the last 3.5 years I’ve pretty much been either pregnant or nursing, so my days of martinis are pretty limited. However, I’m always up for trying a new cocktail. Even though I’ve never heard of this drink before, yesterday was declared “Harvey Wallbanger Friday”.
A Harvey Wallbanger consists of vodka, orange juice, and a liqueur called Galliano. It’s garnished with a cherry or orange slice.
I’ve never had Galliano before but it’s a pretty yellow color, and the other ingredients are basically just a screwdriver, so I figured it would be good. I followed this recipe.
DSC00253
I was wrong. It’s disgusting. Galliano tastes like black licorice and ruined a perfectly good screwdriver. Back to Martini Fridays for me. Now anyone have any ideas for what to do with the rest of the bottle?
DSC00258
3 thoughts on “National Harvey Wallbanger Day

Leave a Reply

