World Vegan Day

I am not a vegetarian, and I am certainly not a vegan. But I decided that in honor of today, I was going to make myself a vegan dinner.

I went out for Halloween with Allyssa last night and stayed over at her house. This morning, we were discussing what I could make for World Vegan Day. Every single thing I suggested, she responded with “nope, cheese,” “nope, butter,” “nope, eggs.” I had never really even thought about what it means to be a vegan, but I really understand how difficult it must be to find edible food to eat on a daily basis. I have a new found respect for vegans now, after just making one meal.

My meal? Spaghetti with broccoli, carrots, and water chestnuts in tomato sauce, seasoned with garlic, salt, black pepper, red pepper, onion powder, and parsley.

My verdict? This was essentially the same meal I’ve made a million times, except I usually make it with chicken and cheese. What this meal was lacking in protein, it certainly made up for in taste. It was really very good. I don’t think I could ever be a vegan, because I really love chocolate and I really love ice cream and I really love cheese. But I don’t mind eating like one sometimes.

Leave a Reply

