National Apple Betty Day

I wasn’t sure what an apple betty was, and, I have to say, after reading the recipe, I was a little skeptical. I wasn’t sure how apples, bread, brown sugar, and butter would make a dessert. However, I gave it a shot, and here are the results.

I made a much smaller version of this recipeΒ since I’d be eating it myself. I cut up the apple and bread (and, no, I didn’t peel the apple first. I hate peeling apples and it didn’t really make a difference for this, I don’t think).

I layered the brown sugar, apples, and bread and covered it with more butter than anyone should ever eat:

I cooked it, covered, at 375 degrees for 45 minutes. I then cooked it uncovered for 5 minutes. This is what it looked like when it came out of the oven:

As far as I’m concerned, apple desserts are not complete until they are topped with vanilla ice cream. Also, I still have whipped cream leftover.

My verdict? This was delicious, actually. And incredibly easy to make. I didn’t even have to buy any ingredients because I already had them all in my apartment. I know that everyone freaks out over pumpkin at this time of the year, but my favorite fall flavors have always been apple and cinnamon. In fact, I think adding cinnamon to this dessert would be an awesome addition. I’m really happy with how this came out, and I will definitely make it again in the future.

One thought on “National Apple Betty Day

Leave a Reply

