World Farm Animals Day

I had no idea what to write about for this day. It doesn’t exactly fit into the other food holidays. And then I found this website and realized that maybe I shouldn’t use today to be silly, but to actually educate myself.

world-farm-animals-dayI’ve seen Food, Inc. and I’ve read The Omnivore’s Dilemma and I even took a class in college called “Sustainable Harvest” (it was an English class, believe it or not), in addition to many Environmental Science and Sociology classes that discussed similar topics. I try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I’m not a vegetarian, but I also don’t really eat that much red meat (obviously I do sometimes). So what I’m trying to say is that I’m not completely naïve on the subject of how farm animals are treated and environmental issues and all that jazz. But you can always learn more.

I’m not about to get on a pedestal and preach about how everyone must change their eating habits and only eat organic or anything like that. Besides the fact that it would make me a total hypocrite, I’m also not nearly educated enough on the subject to lecture anyone else.

If you’re interested in learning more about how animals are treated on many farms, click here to look at just one of many sites that address these issues. Our blog is not the platform to discuss this kind of thing, but there are a lot of resources that you can go to educate yourselves if you are so inclined.

I’m certainly in no position to judge anyone else’s choices. I just firmly believe that every choice you make, especially about things that you are putting into your body, should be an informed one.

Also, in honor of today, I watched the greatest movie about farm animals ever made:

That Mr. Zuckerman sure has some pig!

That Mr. Zuckerman sure has some pig!

2 thoughts on “World Farm Animals Day

  1. Watching Charlotte’s Web is a good idea! I need to introduce my offspring to that movie, I forgot about it.
    I also liked Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life. You can borrow it if you want. It changed the way I think of eating seasonally, at least in regards to produce. From May to October it is pretty easy thanks to our CSA and a farm down the road, but it’s the winter produce and meats that we should work on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

