National Beer Lover’s Day

As much as I enjoy beer, I really know nothing about it. My tastes don’t go much beyond “good” and “meh.” So I decided to use this food holiday to get a little beer education. I enlisted the assistance of my friends Kirstie and Steve, who basically consider beer to be a hobby. We went to an awesome bar called Maloney’s. We each had two rounds of beer, and I wrote down what all of our first reactions were to what we ordered.

This is only half of their beer menu.

This is only half of their beer menu.

Round One

Kirstie ordered Weyerbacher Jester’s Tree. She described it as “grapefruity” and “hoppy.”

Steve ordered Green Flash Green Bullet. He described it as “boozey with hints of citrus, probably orange or tangerine.”

I ordered Slumbrew Happy Sol. I described it as “beer!” And then said it was easy to drink and really tasty.

Slumbrew Happy Sol

Slumbrew Happy Sol

Round Two

Kirstie ordered Leinenkugel Big Eddy Rye Wine, which she described as being “sweet like stone fruit.”

Steve ordered Elysian Dragonstooth Stout. He said it had a “chocolate and bourbon-vanilla flavor.”

I got River Horse Hipp-O-Lantern, which I brilliantly described as “tastes like fall.”

Leinenkugel Big Eddy Rye Wine and River Horse Hipp-O-Lantern

Leinenkugel Big Eddy Rye Wine and River Horse Hipp-O-Lantern

My verdict? I like beer. Beer is good. I tend to go for lighter beers with fruity flavors. I also really want to learn more about it so I can understand how to better describe what it is I am tasting. Thank you to Steve and Kirstie for joining me and Maloney’s for being awesome. Please excuse me while I enjoy what will most likely be my last Leinenkugel Summer Shandy of the summer.

Leave a Reply

