National Grilled Cheese Day

Yesterday was my 25th birthday, but all I could think about all day is “I can’t wait for tomorrow.” Because birthdays are not nearly as exciting or as important as today. Grilled cheese is the perfect food. And I think that I did it justice.

I was going to make grilled cheese for all three meals, but we had a barbecue at work today. So I only made it for breakfast and dinner. I didn’t just make plain old grilled cheese. Oh no. I went all out.

I started my day with something I’ve dubbed Breakfast Grilled Cheese. I started with these ingredients:

Rye bread, eggs, turkey bacon, butter, and mild cheddar cheese.

Rye bread, eggs, turkey bacon, butter, and mild cheddar cheese.

I scrambled the eggs, fried the bacon, buttered the bread.

I pressed it in my George Foreman grill, and this is what I ended up with:

My verdict? It’s really just a breakfast sandwich, but so, so good. I don’t usually eat breakfast this big, but it did keep me full for most of the day. I barely ate anything at my work BBQ.

For dinner, I created my true masterpiece. Pesto Avocado Mozzarella Grilled Cheese.

I started with this:

(WD-40, paper, and peach schnapps not included)

(WD-40, paper, and peach schnapps not included)

Which turned into this:

Which tragically turned into this:

I think I MAY have used too much cheese...

I think I MAY have used too much cheese…

However, I did salvage it to look like this:

My verdict? This is possibly the perfect sandwich, if not the most perfect execution. Seriously, this was so incredibly good. I would totally eat this every day, but I have to at least pretend to be healthy. Sometimes. Maybe.

7 thoughts on “National Grilled Cheese Day

Leave a Reply

