National Grits for Breakfast Day

So I’m a cheater and I eat breakfast for dinner, so my grits for dinner are still grits for breakfast.

Make sense?

Shhhhhh.

I used this recipe from Betty Crocker to inspire my meal, so I won’t go into detail about how I made the sausage and grits casserole, since it’s all there.

I am super Italian, though, so I changed the recipe to sweet Italian sausage and Parsley & Cheese Sausage, and used shredded mozzarella as my cheese. I also added some fresh basil. And told my family we were having polenta, so that they would like it better than if I were saying grits.

So yeah, rule breaking all around over here.

pauladeenNow, I know a lot of people take issue with polenta/grits. People don’t like it. They think of the rubbery polenta that comes in a plastic tube package, or Paula Dean.

Shrimp and grits, y’all.

No thanks.

I was hoping that this recipe could change that.

Did it?

 

Honestly, you can’t go wrong with cheese and sausage. This is pretty delicious. And my parents and my friend who came for dinner said that, not me.

And yes, I would eat this for breakfast too.

2 thoughts on “National Grits for Breakfast Day

Leave a Reply

