National Mac and Cheese Day

Today’s the day. It’s a big holiday.

A big, cheesy holiday.

No, fool, it’s not even close to Valentine’s Day, as cheesy as that nonsense is.

It’s National Macaroni and Cheese Day! My new favorite holiday.

To celebrate I made a lovely Monterey Jack & Cheddar Stove Top Mac and Cheese. And it’s bangin’. I even brought some to work to share with a few people, but will probably end up consuming most of the tray myself, because I am sassy.

I don’t measure when I’m cooking, only when I’m baking, so here’s a basic run down of the ingredients, with some fudged measurements, and how I made the sauce.

  • 3 tbsp Butter
  • ¼ cup Frozen chopped onions
  • 2 tbsp Gluten Free multi purpose flour – I used King Arthur, as usual.
  • 3-4 cups of milk – I used nonfat Lactaid (The irony of the Lactaid only becomes funnier when I realize just how much cheese I put in this thing)
  • 2 tsp paprika, or honestly however much you want.
  • 1 block (8 oz) of Monterey Jack Cheese
  • 1 bag sharp cheddar cheese – I think it’s an 8 oz bag.
  • 1 bag Kraft triple cheddar cheese
  • 1 capful white vinegar
  • Salt and pepper
  • Cornstarch slurry – 2 tablespoons cornstarch to ½ cup milk. It won’t look thick, but it will definitely make magic happen.
  • 1 lb macaroni – I used Barilla Gluten Free elbows.

 

  1. Begin to boil a large pot of water for the macaroni and cook the mac as you make the sauce.
  2. Melt the butter in a large sauce pot over medium heat.
  3. Add the onions and cook until soft and translucent.
  4. Add salt and pepper. Start with maybe a half teaspoon of each, you can add more later.
  5. Add the flour and stir. It’ll get all stuck together. That’s fine. Just don’t let it brown.
  6. Add the milk and stir, stir, stir.
  7. Once the milk is warm, you don’t want it to boil and bubble, start adding the cheese. I added the entire block of Monterey jack, and a bag and a half of the shredded cheddars.
  8. Just keep stirring.
  9. Add a capful of vinegar – this adds some tang.
  10. Now is the time to taste and see if you want to add more cheese, more salt, more pepper, more paprika, whatever it is.
  11. If you feel that the sauce is not thick enough, you can add little of the cornstarch slurry at a time until the heat thickens it up.
  12. Drain the macaroni, then add it back to the pot. Pour the cheese sauce in and mix it up. A cheesy match made in heaven.
  13. At this point you can serve it up as is, or pour the whole concoction into a pan and add more cheese and paprika on top and let it sit under the broiler until just barely browned. Yum.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

That’s my mac and cheese and now I need to go put some sweatpants on. Clearly, a winning recipe.

Did anyone else celebrate with Lori and me? Share your mac!

 

 

Leave a Reply

