National Peach Pie Day

So, I may have cheated a bit on this one. But are you surprised, really?

My good friends from high school got married in Baltimore this weekend, and Allyssa was kind enough to cover National Sponge Cake Day for me yesterday. But I drove from Baltimore to Philly to New Jersey today. There was no way I was going to make a pie. Sorry, guys. But, don’t worry…because I made this. Peach pie moonshine? Oh, okay.

The only alterations I made from the original recipe was using strawberry peach juice instead of white grape peach juice, ground cinnamon instead of cinnamon sticks (I’m not that fancy), adding some leftover fresh peaches from National ‘Eat a Peach’ Day, and excluding the vodka. Trust me, I drank enough at the open bar last night that I probably don’t need to be drinking too much tonight. Alone. On a Sunday. I added plenty of peach schnapps though.

Oh, I’m also not nearly trendy enough to own any mason jars, so I’m storing my moonshine in a big mixing bowl.

Photo bomb cred goes to: bottle of tequila, not used in this drink.

Photo bomb cred goes to: bottle of tequila, not used in this drink.

I promised my friend Diana I would include a picture of me drinking straight from the mixing bowl using a spoon. And I am nothing if not a good friend.

Don’t tell her, but I actually drank it like this:

My verdict? So it’s not technically “pie.” But it says peach pie in the name, and that’s good enough for me. Plus, this tasted delicious and I have so much of it I’m going to be drinking alone for a week. I mean. What? I never said that.

Leave a Reply

