National Sponge Cake Day

There was a point when I thought I wanted to make an entire sponge cake and layer it with whipped cream and berries.

Then the idea of trying to make a mug cake version of sponge cake entered my mind and I couldn’t turn back.

I more or less stuck to a basic mug cake recipe, but I changed the method to attempt to get a lighter version of a mug cake. Sponge cakes also are usually topped with a simple syrup to add some moisture, so I could try that too.

  • ½ cup flour or Gluten Free flour blend (no xantham gum)
  • ¼ tsp baking powder
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg – separated
  • ¼ sugar
  • Pinch of salt
  • Less than ¼ cup of milk
  • Small handful blueberries
  • Honey to top the warm cake

Basically, all you do is mix everything together, except the egg whites and sugar. Those two get whipped together until peaks form. Then, carefully mix in the whites last, and then top with the blueberries. I put it in the microwave for 1 minute, then another 30 seconds. Then I took the cake out of the mug and topped it with honey.

Yup, honey. Did you really think I was going to make simple syrup right now? Nope nope nope. Honey works just as well for me!

This is not an acceptable tool for whipped egg whites when you're lazy.

A milk frother is not an acceptable tool for whipping egg whites when you’re lazy.

So how was it?

In hindsight – I should have melted the butter, I should have actually whipped the egg whites to at least soft peaks, I should have added more milk, and I should have nuked it for less time, because the microwave turns everything into rubber.

However, it tasted awesome. And it’s cake. CAKE. I just had cake for lunch. Happy Saturday to me!

 

 

Sponge Cake: can only be improved by actually making it in a real oven and following the recipe.

photo 2 photo 3

2 thoughts on “National Sponge Cake Day

Leave a Reply

