National Spumoni Day

IMG_1317Happy National Spumoni Day, fellow food eaters!  When I first volunteered for this challenge, I didn’t even know what spumoni was.  I crossed my fingers, hoped that it wasn’t meat, and I was thrilled to find out that it’s actually a form of Italian ice cream!  And here I thought that the only Italian ice cream was gelato.  I found out that there was a cafe only 10 blocks from me that specialized in cakes and desserts and sold spumoni.

IMG_1311Cafe Lalo is located on 83rd and Amsterdam, you might recognize it from You’ve Got Mail.  When I first arrived the place was over run with a tour bus and there was a line out the door of people ordering coffees and slices of cake.  I took a quick walk around the block and by the time I got back the bus was just pulling away.  There was only one girl in line ahead of me, and on a Thursday afternoon, many tables open for people to sit and relax with their cakes and pastries.  I, however, am still a bit shy about eating alone in public (am I the only one?) So, I ordered my spumone to go.  It was wrapped up in a cute box and came with the directions to “eat it quickly”.  Thus began a 10 block speed walk back to my apartment.  By the time I got home I was more than ready for a cold treat, but put it in the freezer for a few minutes, just to be safe.

 

IMG_1313Because I’ve never had spumone before,  I can’t say whether or not this was made traditionally, or better than other spumoni, all I can say is, it was  good.  It reminded me of Neapolitan ice cream, except instead of strawberry ice cream, this one had pistachio with chunks of nut. Honestly, I don’t think that this has replaced gelato as my favorite italian ice cream, but still, ice cream is hard to mess up and any ice cream is better than no ice cream.

 

IMG_1316Have you guys had spumoni?  Does this look traditional?  Should I give it another shot somewhere else?  I would definitely like to give Cafe Lalo another try, it looks like the cutest place to spend a lazy afternoon with a coffee and a piece of cake.  Who wants to come?
IMG_1319 IMG_1321

 

Leave a Reply

