National Bacon Lovers’ Day

Before I start this post, I feel like I should warn you that I am not a particularly good cook. I have a habit of not following directions. Or not caring enough to purchase all the ingredients and then improvising. I probably don’t get the best results, but, hey, I’m not dead yet.

Anyway, I was determined to celebrate National Bacon Lovers’ Day by eating bacon for three meals. While delicious, I do now feel a bit like my arteries are going to explode. Worth it.

I started the day eating one of my homemade breakfast burritos, which is basically just eggs, cheese, and bacon in a wrap. Check out my “recipe” here.

breakfast burrito

Now for lunch. I had big plans to make an avocado BLT situation. But then I went to the store yesterday and forgot to buy both tomatoes and lettuce. And my avocados were not even close to being ripe enough to eat. So instead I made what turned out to basically be a bacon grilled cheese. Not that I’m complaining.

bacon grilled cheese

Then it was time for dinner and I didn’t really have anything prepared in advance. So I just made it up. I made spaghetti with butter, garlic, and crumbled bacon. It was quite good, if I say so myself.

bacon pasta

My verdict? Bacon. Yes. Always. Also, don’t worry about following directions because if there is bacon and cheese, you won’t go wrong. And if you want to make something with avocados, make sure you buy them a couple days in advance.

What’s your favorite bacony food? Share in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “National Bacon Lovers’ Day

Leave a Reply

